In Romans 7, Paul says ‘The law is spiritual.’  What does that mean?  If the law were physical, then it could be satisfied by works, but since it is spiritual, no one can satisfy it unless everything he does springs from the depths of his heart.  But no one can give such a heart except the Spirit of God, who makes the person be like the law, so that he actually conceives a heartfelt longing for the law and henceforward does everything, not through fear or coercion, but from a free heart.   ~Martin Luther
          
I got online some time ago to read my free copy of the Detroit News as I do most mornings while sipping on my cup of Dunkin’ Donuts coffee.  First it’s sports and then I’ll check out the front page.  The growing story of importance here in town besides the slumping economy and ballooning unemployment rate is our beloved Detroit Tigers baseball team.  They are off to a surprisingly dismal start after winter acquisitions equaling the signing Goliath and a few of his buddies.  Expectations have been rising all off-season, so to begin the season 0-7 wasn’t the start many of us fans anticipated.  The paper had one of those cybersurveys to chime in on today.  So I did.  I answered with the 27.75% who said “A little.  There are some bad signs“, in response to the question: “How concerned are you about the Tigers’ inauspicious start to the 2008 season?”
 
Some times we feel that way is regards to our journey of faith, our disconnect with sin can seem a million miles away.  Our rally-cry to beat sin sort of like Mike Tyson used to pummel his victims in the boxing ring can quickly become a whimper—the guy who was gonna whip sin into shape can suddenly find himself the whipping boy.  For many us, our anti-sin-crusade came to a halt much earlier than we had announced to the world.  And then we did it, we gave in to some old familiar vice.  
 
15 For I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. 16Now if I do what I do not want, I agree with the law, that it is good. 17So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. 18For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out. 19 For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing. 20Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me.  ~Romans 7:15-20, ESV
 
Losing seven games straight is no occasion to throw in the towel on the season.  Like any MLB baseball team worth the dirt on the bottom of their spikes, we can’t give up on our entire season after a 0-7 start when we have a 162 game schedule in front of us.
 
Oh, the Tigers won game 8 in Boston last night—154 more to go.
