At this point many of his disciples turned away and deserted him. Then Jesus turned to the Twelve and asked, “Are you also going to leave?” 

Simon Peter replied, “Lord, to whom would we go? You have the words that give eternal life. We believe, and we know you are the Holy One of God.” ~John 6:66-69, NLT 

A headline a few days back on Yahoo’s homepage read “The president opens up about his toughest call and what he misses about his old life.” It got me to thinking…
 
Have you ever been on that vacation you would have just about given your right arm for (if you’re a lefty you get my drift) if it meant staying and not having to go back to the daily grind so soon?  I know we all say with Dorothy that there’s “No place like home” or “It’s so good to be home”, but I think it’s just a sales pitch to ourselves to soften the blow of having to leave a place we’d just assume we could throw away the key to and call heaven.  Home is swell, but I could get used to life on a golf course overlooking the ocean with five-star accommodations and my own personal chef real fast.   Maybe it’s that I’ve been on a few vacations over the span of my short lifetime that have ruined me I suppose (and yet, I’ve never been to any of the destinations you might name like Hawaii or Cancun).  I’ve discovered—even on the low budget trips I’ve been on—that once you’ve tasted prime rib, a hot dog never tastes quite the same (not sure what a vegetarian would compare?).  If you’ve ever had the thrill of driving an exotic sports car you know what I mean when I say that a Ford Focus with a spoiler and fancy chrome wheels doesn’t really compare. 
 
To be sure, I’m not comparing the Christian journey to a far-away vacation because on several levels it is anything but a holiday from hardship. I’m merely comparing apples and oranges here, and following Jesus versus not following him isn’t apples and oranges.  It’s life and death.  It’s peace that passes understanding.  It’s truth over lies.  It’s heaven and hell.  That said, following Jesus isn’t a convenient, hassle free, pain-free, and loss free life some “prosperity preachers” will tell you it is.  Gospel preachers rightly point out that you and I don’t get through life unscathed if we are following a man who voluntarily laid his life down for undeserving reprobates.  Jesus did say to the crowd one afternoon, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross daily, and follow me (Luke 9:23, NLT).”  That doesn’t hardly ring of pie in the sky.
 
Then one of the teachers of religious law said to him, “Teacher, I will follow you wherever you go.” 
  
But Jesus replied, “Foxes have dens to live in, and birds have nests, but the Son of Man has no place even to lay his head.”  ~Matthew 8:19-20, NLT 
  
While the president might miss a few of the things from his previous life before life in the White House I am reminded of my new life in Christ and how there is absolutely nothing to miss about my old life. Frankly, I don’t miss a single thing.  And why should I?  I can enjoy all of the things I did before but without a guilty consience.  As for the things that have no place in my life—well, I now have the power to follow Jesus instead. 
  
Thoughts?